Book Release Day!

Today is the day my precious NA Psychological Horror, The Bleeding Heart, releases into the world. I have learned so much about, not only the self-publishing process, but also myself.

Here are my TOP 10 THINGS I LEARNED WHILE SELF-PUBBING:

1. I thought I knew all about technology, but I know squat–the most frustrating thing about self-publishing is having to format documents. I love my Mac, but Pages is so limited. Having to purchase Microsoft Office just seems so wrong!

2. Talking about myself to people I know is so nerve wracking–but telling friends and family about my book elicited so much wonderfulness I have no idea what the angst was about in the first place!

3. Without my CP, this whole thing would be dead in the water–Valia Lind often took precious writing minutes of her own to help me through the technical difficulties. Truly, without her and her whole cheerleading thing I’d be lost. Plus, she knows a lot about comma placement, and apparently I know nada:)

4. Accepting that I am not anyone else, but me–Jennifer Armentrout writes something like 9 books in a year. I am not her. I work 2 jobs and have 2 kids. I write when I can and when the muse hits. For me, writing a draft in a year is good. I accept that (and envy Jennifer of course).

5. Traditionally published authors are very supportive–when posting about my release and cover reveal, many traditionally published authors were very kind and showed their excitement for my achievement. Self-publishing has definitely shattered the barriers between itself and traditional publishing!

6. No matter what, I did what I set out to do–I’m a realist. My book may never become a best seller. Do I wish it would, of course! But I know that there are so many books out there that mine may never make it past the 375,000 ranking. For me, I’m proud of myself for writing a book and publishing it. It’s a dream come true!

7. I want to write more–writing is freaking hard work, but it’s something I love to do. And I definitely have MANY more stories to tell. In fact, I have a short story that will be featured in a Halloween Anthology, October 2015!

8. NEVER do something you aren’t good at–pay someone to design your cover. Pay someone to run a cover reveal or blog hop. These people know what they are doing! Sarah Henson from Okay Creations created something that was no where on my radar. THIS cover is all her and she nailed it! Lydia from HEA Blog Tours took care of me and got my book out there. I blog and have a lot of blogging friends, so her knowledge was so helpful!

9. Don’t rush–I would have loved to have my book finished, so I could sign at BEA this year. It didn’t happen. I knew that that deadline wasn’t reachable, so I took my time.

10. Some people will love the book. Some people will hate the book. The end.

Front Cover

 The Bleeding Heart

by Amy Giuffrida

Paperback: 316 pages

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (May 21, 2015)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 1511927828

ISBN-13: 978-1511927826

Amazon

Goodreads

Brooklyn is a talented artist with an obsession for blood; one that she satiates at her uncle’s tattoo shop. It’s here at The Bleeding Heart that Brooklyn practices the art of dispensing pain onto others. Yet, nothing can dull the desire running through her veins, especially since the man she really wants to torture rots in jail for murder.

When Daniel comes into her life, Brooklyn’s obsession with tattoos and blood quickly turns into desire for him. She dreams about getting him on her tattoo table as her first official customer, marking him as her own. But Daniel has a different idea as to what they should be doing with their bodies.

As Brooklyn spirals out of control, her sanity begins to slip right along with whatever is left of her humanity. Daniel may be the only one left to save her, if she lets him in. In the end she will have to choose between exacting vengeance, staying alive, or loving Daniel.

How about a giveaway? Want this…

IMG_1887

Enter the Rafflecopter and I’ll announce the winner on

June 6th!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/3d674a5e4/

Rules: Only those who are 18 years old and live in the USA are eligible to win.

Posted on May 25, 2015, in Book Release and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

