More News and a Review

It’s been about a week since I last posted. I know…bad blogger. I’m working on getting myself back on track. I have been reading a lot, working on revisions, and some other behind the scenes things. Back to blogging. From now on, my focus here will be on reviews, cover reveals, and author promos. I’m taking all of my author updates and writing posts to my new site: http://amygiuffrida.com. If you want to see what I’m up to, that’s where I’ll be:)

Now for some reviews.

Over the past week, I’ve read two fantastic YA novels–The Program by Suzanne Young and Creed by Trisha Leaver and Lindsay Currie. They may be completely different books, but I inhaled them both.

 

11366397

In Sloane’s world, true feelings are forbidden, teen suicide is an epidemic, and the only solution is The Program.

Sloane knows better than to cry in front of anyone. With suicide now an international epidemic, one outburst could land her in The Program, the only proven course of treatment. Sloane’s parents have already lost one child; Sloane knows they’ll do anything to keep her alive. She also knows that everyone who’s been through The Program returns as a blank slate. Because their depression is gone—but so are their memories.

Under constant surveillance at home and at school, Sloane puts on a brave face and keeps her feelings buried as deep as she can. The only person Sloane can be herself with is James. He’s promised to keep them both safe and out of treatment, and Sloane knows their love is strong enough to withstand anything. But despite the promises they made to each other, it’s getting harder to hide the truth. They are both growing weaker. Depression is setting in. And The Program is coming for them.

What did I think?

Holy moly! Suicide is an epidemic, sucking teens left and right into deep depression before taking their lives. Nobody knows where this virus has begun or why it infects only teens under the age of 18, but it does. Those who show any signs of infection are quickly carted off to The Program. After their friends all succumb to the depression, Sloane and James fight The Program.

The Program is rooted in such an original idea, that I couldn’t help but get sucked into the story. I can’t rave enough about Sloane and James. Without spilling the beans about the ending, I will only say that true love can only be the thing with enough power to find their way back to each other.

The Program is a MUST read!

****************************************************

17720829

Three went in. Three came out. None even a shadow of who they once were.

When their car breaks down, Dee, her boyfriend Luke, and his brother Mike walk through a winter storm to take refuge in a nearby town called Purity Springs. When they arrive, the emergency sirens are blaring and the small farming town seems abandoned. With no other shelter, they spend the night in an empty house.

But they soon discover that not everything in Purity Springs is as it seems. When the town’s inhabitants suddenly appear the next morning, Dee, Luke, and Mike find themselves at the mercy of the charismatic leader, Elijah Hawkins, who plans to make Dee his new wife. Elijah’s son, Joseph, offers to help them escape . . . but the price of his help may be more than Dee and her friends can bear.

What did I think?

Talk about another story with a fresh plot! And scary?! Heck yes it is. I mean, can you imagine running out of gas and walking into an abandoned town? There are no phones, no gas, no humans to help you. I would have kept walking–no, running. Seeing that Dee, Luke, and Mike aren’t smart like me, they find themselves in a town that is run by an extremest.

Think about the name of this town for a minute. Purity Springs. Doesn’t that just totally jangle your nerves a little bit?! Um, yeah. You all know I love horror, but this doesn’t contain the typical horror nuances. Yes, they run out of gas. And yes, they walk into a creepy town. That’s where the similarities end. Trisha and Lindsay have created something so new and fresh that Creed is a MUST READ!!!

If you want to talk to Lindsay and Trisha, join The Midnight Society tonight, 7 pm CST on Twitter. We’re using the hashtag: #MBC

I hope to see you all there!

Posted on January 26, 2015, in Book Review, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

