Ringing in the New Year

Happy New Year!

I have some fantastic news, but before I go into that I thought I’d take a look back at my 2014 most memorable moments. Here are my top 5:

1.  BEA- There was so much fun packed into 3 days in New York. I finally met my critique partner face-to-face, I attended the Teen Author Rooftop Party, I met Stan Lee and Billy Idol, and spent time with blogger friends (too many to name), and I got to ride the subway with a fantastic author.

2.  Comic Con- YES! I took my teenager to NYC and spent the entire day surrounded by the coolest characters and fans. It was here that I freaked out/geeked out when I met Amber Benson and Stephen Amell in person.

3.  Full Requests- I know this isn’t something we are supposed to talk about, but I will. 2014 brought me 14 full requests for my manuscript titled, The Bleeding Heart. That’s a ton!!

4.  Sera- We marked one whole year together. My pup celebrated her first birthday and we finally have the whole routine down. We couldn’t have found a better dog for our family.

5.  I served on a committee that ran through multiple interviews ISO a new school librarian. Although the process took longer than we’d planned, I think we found the perfect fit for our small school. My favorite question was, what was the last book you’ve read and who would you recommend it to? What’s the last YA or MG book you’ve read. Of course I added the YA/MG part:)

In With the New

At the end of 2014, I made a decision…I am going to self-publish my NA Psychological Horror, The Bleeding Heart!

I wrote this story two years ago and I’ve been querying ever since. I submitted The Bleeding Heart into a few contests and even won a few, but alas I have not landed an agent. I’ve come to the realization that this story is not meant to be traditionally published. Maybe I’m not meant to be a traditional author. I’ve never really been traditional. In fact, my grandfather (we called him Grumpy) loved this about me. He always said that I found my own way, and I guess I’m going to continue in this tradition.

I’ve done a ton of research about how self-publishing and talked to a few indy authors. For those of you thinking about going this route, I totally suggest you read Jaime McGuire’s blog post about self-publishing.

The first thing I’m doing is taking the next two months to revise a few parts, then will send to a few trusted souls for a final read-through. Once that’s finished, I will copyright my work. Once this is finished, I’ll get to work on formatting my novel for all of the ebook outlets–Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kindle, etc. I know I can hire someone to to do this for me, but I’m trying to do the majority of work myself.

And what I can’t do is design a cover. So, I’ve already set out and selected a cover designer. Last week I sent in my deposit, so sometime in April I’ll be talking cover! For my book! Yeah, I’m still pretty freaked about this part. Once I start seeing art, I’ll know this is it!! So look for a cover reveal sometime in April! The Bleeding Heart release day will be sometime in May.

The Bleeding Heart release will be sometime in May! I’m looking forward to the process and finally holding my baby in my hands.

So that’s my news.

giphy-4

 

 

Posted on January 12, 2015, in Self Publishing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

