Dying to Devour: Julie Kagawa

This is normally the day I post about a book or series I’m dying to read. This week, I want to focus on the series I featured in one of these posts. Why? Because I’ve finally read two books in the series and I’m hooked!

10215349

 

This is the cover of The Immortal Rules I have signed by Julie. Why I allowed this book (and it’s sequel) to sit on my shelf gathering dust for two years is beyond me. As soon as I cracked open to page one, I was hooked!

I know that it isn’t really popular to love vampire stories anymore, but I can’t help myself. Some of my favorite books (no, I’m not talking about Twilight) have featured vampires. For example, I LOVE Holly Black’s vampire novel–The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. Julie Kagawa has breathed new life into the vampire story by inserting a dystopian vampire society. The one difference being that she almost humanizes the bloody killing machines.

Book 1 is the story of a teen girl living in a vampire city. Everyone except a few are registered with the vampires as blood bags. Allie refuses to give in to the vampires and lives the life of a fugitive, that is until she become a vampire herself. When she meets a group of survivors in search of Eden, Allie tries to maintain her humanism.

I love the way Julie has built a dark world, but has snuck some light into the cracks.

13581990

Book 2 focuses on Allie’s search for her sire. Blood calls to blood, and the crazy vampire who’s taken Kanin leads her back to where she was born. With the Red Lung–a deadly disease–back, Allie needs to find a cure before both vampires and humans become extinct.

Now to read book 3 and find out what’s in store for Allie. Will she stay human or allow the monster from with in take control?

If you enjoy a good vampire story, then run and get this series!

Posted on November 19, 2014, in BEA, Dying to Devour, Harlequin Teen, Julie Kagawa, YA Spotlight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

