Monday Musings: NANOWRIMO

To NaNo or not to NaNo, that is the question.

I thought I’d stay far, far away from NaNoWriMo this year. I just cannot write that fast…50,000 words in 30 days is ABSOLUTELY INSANE!

watching-a-scary-movie-in-cinema_818

But, I think I may just be crazy enough to try this year. Why? About 6 months ago I started writing a story I call–A FIFTH OF A SECOND. At first, this story was coming out New Adult (NA). This is not a bad thing, I just never really saw myself writing in this arena. I tend to shy away from writing explicit sex scenes, although I do like to write smexy scenes. Mine are more PG-13 than R, if you know what I mean.

On Thursday, I got inspiration from out of nowhere on how to translate the beginning I’d already written from NA to YA. And in under 2 hours, I had a new 1900 words. That progress got me thinking. If I can just write 1,000 words a day in November, I’d have a great start to a new story–hence thinking about NaNo. Maybe I won’t “win” by completing 50,000 words, but 30,000 isn’t anything to be sneezed at.

For now, I am going to write my heart out. As for NaNo, you may or may not see me lurking around as I add to my word count.

dean-pen-smile

Posted on October 27, 2014, in NaNoWriMo, YA Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

