Five Minute Friday: THE JEWEL

16068780

 

The Jewel means wealth. The Jewel means beauty. The Jewel means royalty. But for girls like Violet, the Jewel means servitude. Not just any kind of servitude. Violet, born and raised in the Marsh, has been trained as a surrogate for the royalty—because in the Jewel the only thing more important than opulence is offspring.

Purchased at the surrogacy auction by the Duchess of the Lake and greeted with a slap to the face, Violet (now known only as #197) quickly learns of the brutal truths that lie beneath the Jewel’s glittering facade: the cruelty, backstabbing, and hidden violence that have become the royal way of life.

Violet must accept the ugly realities of her existence… and try to stay alive. But then a forbidden romance erupts between Violet and a handsome gentleman hired as a companion to the Duchess’s petulant niece. Though his presence makes life in the Jewel a bit brighter, the consequences of their illicit relationship will cost them both more than they bargained for.

*****

What did I think?

Oh where to begin. I will admit, I actually look at ratings of books on Goodreads. These reviews don’t sway me in anyway, but I use them to decide which book to read if I’m undecided. I’ve wanted to read The Jewel since I was lucky enough to get a copy from BEA 2014. There was so much early buzz about Amy Ewing’s debut that I knew I had to read. Fast forward almost four months, and here I am ready to read when all I see on Goodreads are ratings of 1-3 stars. Hmmm…this is interesting to me, but still I read. I read this in a few days, seeing that I had multiple baseball games, a sick hubby, and laundry to do; making my normal weekend reading nonexistent.

Well, I have to say that some of the reviews were dead on. I mean, there are similarities to The Hunger Games and The Selection. For me, I also see ties to stories like Cinder and Beta. This means nothing to me, because ultimately the crux of the story is original.

What did bug me about The Jewel is this:

1.  There is NO FREAKING WAY Violet didn’t know about pregnancy. In this world, having surrogates should mean that all girls know. This was unreal to me–it didn’t quite fit.

2.  The relationship/romance was way too…forced. There’s a part where trust is broken between two love birds and it’s like, “huh?!”

3.  The break up and the anger that ensues. Again, very weird to me.

 

So while I totally get some of the low ratings, this whole “like a book hate a boo” thing is totally subjective. In the end, I gave The Jewel 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads and I won’t be reading the sequel, but I didn’t hate the book.

Posted on September 19, 2014, in ARC Reveiw, ARC Spotlight, BEA 2014, Dystopian, Harper Teen, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

