ONE PAST MIDNIGHT by Jessica Shirvington

18594392

 

Name of overseas edition of Between The Lives. 

Above all else, though I try not to think about it, I know which life I prefer. And every night when I Cinderella myself from one life to the next a very small, but definite, piece of me dies. The hardest part is that nothing about my situation has ever changed. There is no loophole.

Until now, that is… 

For as long as she can remember, Sabine has lived two lives. Every 24 hours she Shifts to her ′other′ life – a life where she is exactly the same, but absolutely everything else is different: different family, different friends, different social expectations. In one life she has a sister, in the other she does not. In one life she′s a straight-A student with the perfect boyfriend, in the other she′s considered a reckless delinquent. Nothing about her situation has ever changed, until the day when she discovers a glitch: the arm she breaks in one life is perfectly fine in the other.
With this new knowledge, Sabine begins a series of increasingly risky experiments which bring her dangerously close to the life she′s always wanted… But just what – and who – is she really risking?

****************

First of all, let me thank Bloomsbury for sending me an ARC of One Past Midnight. Without their generosity, I’d never have gotten my grabby hands on a copy of this book. I’m so glad I did, too!

I’ve read stories with a similar trope…girl has two lives on two separate places, girl lives differently in each one. Actually, I’m thinking on a story written by Gretchen McNeil–3:59. But here’s the deal. They are totally different in every other way. I really enjoyed the struggle Sabine had deciding which life was the better one. The one she should choose. I don’t want to give anything away, but the ending–WOW! There was a tiny hint to what would happen, but I was still pleasantly surprised.

Posted on September 11, 2014, in ARC Reveiw, ARC Spotlight, Bloomsbury, YA Spotlight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

