Monday Musings

Having faith in myself as a writer continues to be a struggle for me, especially when I receive comments from someone who’s read a few chapters and share their negative thoughts. My brain knows this is totally meant to help make my story better, but I can’t help allowing those dark thoughts wiggle their way into my subconscious. And wiggle they did. There was so much wiggling that I put that WIP away and began to work on another project.

Until today.

Today I read a book called Unravel by Celia Read. Talk about dark and twisted–which I will when I’m able to put into words all the feels I got from this book. THIS story got me back to thinking about my own dark and scary tale. The one that I’ve written a little over 20,000 words for. The one that has burrowed itself into the darkest corners of my writer brain and made a nest. I can’t give this story up. It pushes me as a writer, whether in the end it’s a good or bad thing remains to be seen (although anytime you’re pushed as a writer I think is a GOOD THING).

Saying I don’t care about the comments I’ve heard isn’t true, but what is are my feelings about finishing the rough draft. I might just need a very long editing and revision time for this story. I’ve kept the comments for this purpose, but I won’t look at them or even think about them until I type “The End”.

Maybe I need a special sword or something to fight those evil nagging doubts away. Maybe I should stop sharing my words until I’m finished with the entire thing. There are lots of maybes, but one thing is for sure…I shall continue to fight the good fight.

tumblr_mg7wpgE9Ki1rkfde2o1_500

Posted on September 1, 2014, in Monday Musings, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

