Monday Musings: Taking a Break

Writing is different for everyone.

Some writers schedule themselves specific times during the day to write. Some create calendars with daily word count goals. Others write when they get the chance, but do so every day. I’ve even read accounts of writers who work seasonally.

Me?

Well, I’ve tried writing a bunch of different ways this summer. I’ve created a word count calendar, tried writing whenever I have the chance, and written every day. None of these methods work for me. And I’ve been feeling a bit like a failure lately.

Until now!

I own that I don’t write every day, or have a schedule, or even a daily word count goal. I have figured out a lot about myself this summer and it’s a GOOD THING! Even though I haven’t finished a story, I’ve written over 60,000 words. That is a feat in itself and it counts as a win! The most important thing to remember is to continue writing and as long as there are words each day, I’ve accomplished my goal.

Anyone else feeling this way lately?

Posted on August 11, 2014, in Monday Musings, writing, YA/NA Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good for you! Tips and tricks are great, but you gotta find what works for YOU.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

