Five Minute Friday- MARTYR by A.R. Kahler

21472900

 

Three years have passed since magic destroyed the world.
Those who remain struggle to survive the monsters roaming the streets, fighting back with steel and magic—the very weapons that birthed the Howls in the first place.
Tenn is one such Hunter, a boy with the ability to harness the elements through ancient runes. For years, the Hunters have used this magic to keep the monsters at bay, but it’s never been enough to truly win the war. Humans are losing.
When Tenn falls prey to an incubus named Tomás and his terrifying Kin, Tenn learns there’s more to this than a fight for survival. He’s a pawn in a bigger game, one with devastating consequences. If he doesn’t play his part, it could cost him his life, his lover and his world.

 

IMG_0822

***

Martyr is another book I brought home from BEA. Secretly I placed five books next to my bed to be read before all others…this was one of them. After meeting a very gracious Alex at the YA Author/Blogger Rooftop Party and getting a copy of Martyr signed, I knew this would be a very special book.

So far, I’m about 75 pages in and LOVING IT! My favorite part? That there is a gay couple. Rarely do we see two boys/men/girls/women falling for each other or having a relationship in YA stories, but when we do it’s mostly in a contemporary novel. This is magic and fantasy! YAYS! And I have to tell you that there is a guy on page 61 that I want to punch in the face for being a homophobia jerk!

I know the rest of Martyr will be wonderful, especially since I’m already in love with Alex’s description and crazy creativity with the plot. I’ll be posting my review next week, so keep an eye out for it:)

Posted on June 20, 2014, in ARC, ARC Reveiw, ARC Spotlight, BEA 2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

