My Writer’s Doubt

Supernatural_S9E3_0

 

Seeds of doubt continue to try cement themselves in my brain. I mean really, I read these amazing stories written by others and I wonder how I could ever possibly hope to compare to their amazingness. Great writers like Laurie Halse Anderson, Holly Black, Gillian Flynn…I could go on and on.

But I don’t.

Compare, that is. I am me–flawed, imperfect–and I write from a deep and dark place I normally hide. Writing helps me work out my shit and to not feel like I’m a crazy person sitting around talking to myself. And I have things to say that others don’t. I have stories, good stories in my head. One day I hope to share them with the world. For now I think I’ll just keep writing and see where it leads me.

I’m not miserable either.

During the day I’m a teacher. And I LOVE my job. I LOVE writing. There’s no way I’m going to allow these wicked little buggers to wreak havoc on who I am and what I love. Without the doubt; however, I’d never try to prove to myself that I AM good. That I AM a writer and that I DO have something to say.

For today, this week, this month, and hopefully even this year–doubt is good. And I will embrace it.

Amy

Posted on May 7, 2014, in writing, YA/NA Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

