Five Minute Friday: YA FEST

Last weekend I attended the YA Fest at the Palmer Branch of the Easton Public Library.  This in itself is exciting, along with the fact that I didn’t have to travel far to attend was icing on the cake.

 

First, I hit the used book sale. If you follow me on Twitter you’ll know already that I purchased 29 books for $6.00!!! Well, let me tell you how psyched my students are to see new books on the shelves!


IMG_0548

 

Next, I had a few books with me to be signed. My first stop was to visit with Tiffany Schmidt and was thrilled that she remembered me:) Always gracious and sweet, she signed her new book for me–BRIGHT BEFORE SUNRISE. I can’t wait to dig in and read this!

IMG_07741-e1379612113881-197x300

 

 

Let me tell you, the lines were long and the small library was crowded, so of course we had to vacate the premises when the firemen arrived to figure out why the alarms kept going off. This just gave me time to drop off the heavy bag I was lugging around!

IMG_0543

 

 

Once I reached the back of the library, admittedly looking for Jennifer Armentrout, I stumbled upon a gem. CINDERSKELLA. This may be an obvious modern-day retelling of CINDERELLA, but it’s also soooooo much more. Written by Amie and Bethanie Borst, a mother and daughter. The kicker here is that the daughter is 13 years-old! I quickly purchased CINDERSKELLA to be signed. The authors are willing to schedule a Skype visit with my class after we read the book! I am absolutely thrilled to find a book that not only supports my until on Grimm Fairy Tales and traditional literature, but the co-author is the same age as my students. What a motivator for my future authors!

18311564

 

Right before leaving, I stopped to visit with Jennifer Armentrout and have her sign two books from my own shelf. As always, she is a joy to talk to–especially since she also remembered me. I warned her that she’d see me again soon at BEA:)

IMG_0545

 

I am so happy that the library decided to hold this event again after taking a year’s hiatus. I hope they continue to bring in authors, so that our local teens get the chance to meet writers and broaden their love of books and reading.

Posted on April 25, 2014, in Five Minute Friday, Jennifer Armentrout, YA FEST, YA Spotlight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

