Reading Slump 101

I have been in such a reading slump lately. Maybe it’s the face that I’ve been ridiculously busy with family stuff, Pitch Madness, querying, and exhaustion. No matter the reason, I haven’t been able to finish reading a book in over a month. It’s a terrible feeling. I’ve tried reading popular books and books being recommended by friends, but nothing has kept my attention.

So, how do I break this slump? The good old fashioned way…By reading!

Okay, so maybe it’s a little more than that. I picked up a few of the next books in the Anita Blake series, HIT LIST and KISS THE DEAD by Laurell K. Hamilton and GONE GIRL by Gillian Flynn. I think I just need time to cleanse the ol’ pallet with some adult novels. Once I finish, I hope I’ll be back to reading some of my favorite kind of YA. Until then, I’ll be sharing with you my thoughts on the three books I’m reading.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please note, the following series is for adults. Some graphic material is contained within the story which may not be suitable for readers under 18-years-old.

8935153

 

A serial killer is hunting the Pacific Northwest, murdering victims in a gruesome and spectacular way. The local police suspect “monsters” are involved, and have called in Anita Blake and Edward, U.S. Marshals who really know their monsters, to catch the killer.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I haven’t read any of the Anita Blake series since last summer, so getting back into the characters is a little slow going. Totally not the fault of the book, rather it’s mine for not remembering. But the one thing I remember from the series is that there will be a lot of action.

Posted on March 31, 2014, in Adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

