Five Minute Friday: DOLL BONES by Holly Black

15944406

 

Newbery Honor (2014)Carnegie Medal Nominee for Young Adult (2014)

Zach, Poppy and Alice have been friends for ever. They love playing with their action figure toys, imagining a magical world of adventure and heroism. But disaster strikes when, without warning, Zach’s father throws out all his toys, declaring he’s too old for them. Zach is furious, confused and embarrassed, deciding that the only way to cope is to stop playing . . . and stop being friends with Poppy and Alice. But one night the girls pay Zach a visit, and tell him about a series of mysterious occurrences. Poppy swears that she is now being haunted by a china doll – who claims that it is made from the ground-up bones of a murdered girl. They must return the doll to where the girl lived, and bury it. Otherwise the three children will be cursed for eternity . . .

~~~~~~~

A Note From Amy

Let me just begin by saying I am a HUGE Holly Black fan. I know there are some out there who weren’t in love with THE COLDEST GIRL IN COLDTOWN, but that is my favorite vampire story of all time. When I heard Holly was releasing an MG book–I was skeptical.

I’m so not a huge fan of MG stories. I just think they’re too young for me. But once I saw the creepy cover, I knew I had to just read it. A friend of mine had purchased a copy for her classroom, so I borrowed her copy. I read it in the span of one day. It was that good!

Doll Bones is creepy and heartwarming at the same time. Full of friendship and adventure, Zach, Poppy and Alice learn a little of what it means to grow up and still keep their imagination–kind of like writers do. A perfect book for MG readers!
Newbery Honor (2014)Carnegie Medal Nominee for Young Adult (2014)

Posted on February 21, 2014, in Five Minute Friday, Holly Black, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

