Five Minute Friday: SPLINTERED by A.G. Howard

12558285

This stunning debut captures the grotesque madness of a mystical under-land, as well as a girl’s pangs of first love and independence. Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now.
When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far darker and more twisted than Lewis Carroll ever let on. There, Alyssa must pass a series of tests, including draining an ocean of Alice’s tears, waking the slumbering tea party, and subduing a vicious bandersnatch, to fix Alice’s mistakes and save her family. She must also decide whom to trust: Jeb, her gorgeous best friend and secret crush, or the sexy but suspicious Morpheus, her guide through Wonderland, who may have dark motives of his own.

********

A Note About SPLINTERED From Amy 

I first picked up SPLINTERED because of it’s beautiful cover. Yeah, I know–don’t judge a book by it’s cover–but I do. I LOVE beautiful covers! I can tell you that the inside matches the outside, with a story so addicting it’s like a Grandma’s pizza fresh from our local pizza shop. If you don’t know what this is, please run out and order it for yourself. TO DIE FOR PIZZA!!!

Every week, I have a day that all of my 8th graders read for the entire class period. I read too, usually I choose a book that they are bugging me to read–two weeks ago it was ALLEGIANT. This time I perused the shelves looking for a book I haven’t read yet and SPLINTERED jumped out at me. I love the story so much that I’m ready to get my hands on the sequel and continue the journey!

If you still aren’t convinced how awesome this story is, check out the book trailer below:)

Posted on January 17, 2014, in Book Review, Five Minute Friday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

