What I Learned in 2013

With a new year comes fresh ideas and hopefully a little retrospective on the previous year. I learned so much in 2013, from my own experiences and from others, that I thought it important to share. From this idea, I’ve decided to post these ideas and lessons weekly. It’s my hope that I can continue to better myself as a writer and make 2014 a fantastic year!

 

LESSON #1

I found the writing community to be absolutely amazing in 2013! Maybe my head was sunk into a very large hole beneath a ton of sand before, but I really had an “ah-ha” moment this year. I always heard that the writing community was awesome, but this was the year I saw it in action. I mean, writers want to help each other! The best possible place for this to happen is on Twitter.

images

 

Whether it’s prepping for #PitchWars or searching for a CP group, Twitter is where it’s at. But you can’t just hang around and read feed from authors, you need to interact. And be yourself.

Just a month ago, there was talk about building a CP group by those who were competing for spots in Pitch Wars. I have a wonderful CP, but I learned that having more than one person critiquing your writing is better so I threw my name out there. Now I’m a part of a group of diverse writers who are working together to better our manuscripts. Never would I have found this group by not taking a chance. Never would I have joined such a group two years ago, because I would have feared it. In 2013, I dropped that crazy fear of rejection and owned my flaws.

That’s what we all need to do in 2014. Own our flaws and imperfections. Ask for help. Be open to creating friendships.

Posted on January 8, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m glad you found success in Twitter. For some reason, Twitter just isn’t my thing. Maybe you can give me tips on how it worked for you.

    • Hi Violet!
      Recently another writer asked about creating a CP group. All I did was respond that I was interested in joining a group and it happened. This is all new for me, but so far so good. I’ve been more open to reaching out of my comfort zone too by just replying to people. I only say what I’m thinking, but sometimes I have to really work in not being overly shy. I hope this helps!!!

  2. I do admit I have to be more social with media. I’m a big fan of Facebook, so I use that a lot, and I just started this blog. I guess I’ll have to make more of an effort. đŸ™‚ Thanks for the tip!

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

