Pimp My Bio: #PitchWars

It’s #PitchWars time!

Choosing four mentors to send an application to was ridiculously difficult, since they are all like freaking super heros! And can I just say that Brenda Drake is a NINJA!

Seeing on Twitter that writers are posting their bios, I thought it would be fun to come up with something little for potential mentors to read about little ol’ me.

IMG_1035

1.  I’m an 8th grade language arts teacher- Writing aside, I love teaching 13 and 14 year olds! I mean what greater joy could there be than getting kids excited about reading and writing? Plus, it helps that I still at age___ haven’t yet grown up. (You didn’t really think I’d reveal my age, did you?)

2.  I caught the writing bug after hearing a Kelly Clarkson song. Weird right? Well, I could see this scene in my head so vividly I just had to write it down. This story never went anywhere, but right now I’m using parts in my latest WIP.

3.  I swear like a sailor. I hold it inside around kids (mostly), but if you get to know me well, I’m sure my filter will disappear.

4.  Stephen King is my hero. I mean, the man is insane but so smart and talented! Ditto for The-All-Mighty-Powerful Joss Whedon!

5.  I have a tattoo that I will add to when I sign with an agent. That will be my celebratory gift to myself. It’s super old and I paid $15 to get it done in the basement of this guy when I was in college. Might I mention that when I was a teen I pierced my own ear 2x?

6.  Getting my first agent is a dream and of course I want to sell my novel, but it’s not why I write. There is just something inside that’s been begging to be let out for years and I’ve finally been able to give it a voice. Kinda like an alien that has incubated long enough and is ready to hatch. Now there are visions of a drooling alien standing in front of Sigourney Weaver dancing around my head.

7.  I think I’m a closet geek. Buffy the Vampire Slayer is my hero and I’m really invested in the show Arrow, so much so that my daughter and I have begun buying The Black Canary comic books. Shhhhh!

8.  I am a huge baseball fan. YANKEES ALL THE WAY! I yell at the TV during a game more than the guys in my family (and I have a huge family).

9.  After reading my novel, the question most asked is: What is wrong with you? AND Did something terrible happen to you that I don’t know about? Swear it’s nothing like that. I just like the creepy and dark.

10. Honestly, I’m ready to work more on my story and I’m looking for a mentor who’ll push me to make my writing better. Seriously, I can take it:)

 

Don’t forget there are others out there posting, so check out the other links here: http://dcmorin.blogspot.com/2013/12/pitchwars-mentee-contender-bio-blog-hop.html?showComment=1386031494274#c7956056573365439527

Posted on December 2, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I’m thinking of getting a tattoo to celebrate something. I just don’t know what yet. Maybe publication is a good one.

    Re: 9 – My partner generally has that response to my flash fiction. She doesn’t verbalize it any more though. It’s just there in her expression. It kinda cracks me up.

  2. Good for you, writing the kind of fiction that makes people ask if there’s something wrong with you–that takes courage! I’m thinking about adding some ink if and when I get my first novel published, myself. Good luck with Pitch Wars!

  3. I love #9. I haven’t written dark and creepy yet, but it’s something I’d like to get into and I can see people saying the same thing about me.

  4. emilygmoorewriter

    HI there fellow Pitchwarrior! Just wanted to pop in, say hi and best wishes on your Pitchwars endeavor!

  5. Number 3, 4, 6, and 9 mean we can be good, good friends 🙂 I get #9 a lot. I’ll let a friend read what I wrote and then they’re all like: “but you look so sweet, what’s going on in that insane head of yours?”

    Good luck with Pitch Wars!!

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

