Thoughts of an Unknown Writer: NaNoWriMo 2013

press-start-fa915ffe8a6fb32bb3eabf7f771620b4

Last year at this time, I was deep into writing my manuscript THE BLEEDING HEART. So deep, that I constantly found myself needing to jump out of the shower just to get to my computer before losing an idea that swirled in my brain.

Now a year later, I’m in the midst of querying my manuscript and trying to begin a new NaNoWriMo project. To say I’ve been having difficulty is putting it mildly.

Do I have an idea?

Yes.

Does my CP think it’s a good idea?

Yes.

So, what do you ask is the problem? Hmmmm…that’s the question and I think it has a two-part answer.

1.  I am querying, so that’s forefront in my mind. I’m just stuck in that story with my lovely dark characters.

2.  I just haven’t been able to figure out where to begin my story, but yesterday the proverbial cork on the champagne popped! I think I figured it out and finally got some words down on the page.

What happens now?

Well, I have to take all of the randomness that is the first 1300 words of my new manuscript and decide where it all belongs (if it even belongs at all). I truly don’t expect to complete the 50k this month, but then again there is no rush. There is no deadline for this project and I certainly won’t be sending it out into the world without a lot of editing and revising.

How about the rest of you NaNoers? Anyone want to share their month of writing so far?

Posted on November 8, 2013, in NaNoWriMo, Uncategorized, YA Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

