Thoughts of an Unknown Writer- Late Bloomer

That’s what my grandfather, aka Grumpy, always called me. A late bloomer.

P1000043

I went to a community college right out of high school and after two years, quit. I quit and I went to work. Why? I went to college really not knowing what I wanted to be when I grew up. So, I took time off to figure that out. You see everyone in may family is either a teacher or a lawyer. And I KNEW I didn’t want to be a lawyer.

So, I got a job working as a teacher’s aide in a very low functioning special education class. I worked one-on-one with a very difficult student and LOVED IT! So much so, that two years later I was putting myself through college. Three years later, I graduated and immediately got a job, got married, and was pregnant with my first child.
DSCF0625

Lots of other things have happened since then–that was 14 years ago, but I’ll never forget what Grumpy would say to me.

“Took you long enough to get there, but I’m proud of you.”

That’s how I feel about my writing. Without divulging my age, it did take me a long time to figure out that I am a writer. I am a late bloomer. And I’m very proud of that. Lately his words have been swirling around in my mind, especially since I’ve been busy querying my manuscript. My Grumpy, how I miss you so, but your words will inspire me always.

Posted on September 23, 2013, in YA Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

