Beginning the School Year with a John Green Video

Ah, I remember the signs school was about to start. Back when I was a student, the corn in the field being tall enough to harvest use to mean the beginning of a new school year. Now, as a middle school teacher, the beginning of school is before September, it’s typically really freakin’ hot, and I have to find babysitters since my children don’t start school until after Labor Day.

While I complain that I’m just not ready to go back to work, and I will only admit this here, but I secretly still love the first day of school. Meeting new students is a highlight and this year I have a special surprise for my classes…a John Green video. Instead of doing the same old intro of me, I’m going to remind my 8th graders just why they are made to get up at an ungodly hour and learn. If this isn’t inspirational, I don’t know what is!

A huge shout out to friend Liza Weimer (@LizaWeimer) for posting this video via Twitter! Without her, I’d be doing the normal boring first day stuff.

 

 

Posted on August 26, 2013, in Inspiration for a new school year and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I bet your students will love this video!

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

