BEA Spotlight: Elizabeth Scott

Elizabeth Scott was not a new author to me going to BEA. I had already read a wonderful book by her years ago called Love You Hate You Miss You. 

5245026

Love You Hate You Miss You

Get this, I’m supposed to be starting a journal about “my journey.” Please. I can see it now: Dear Diary, As I’m set adrift on this crazy sea called “life” . . . I don’t think so.It’s been seventy-five days. Amy’s sick of her parents suddenly taking an interest in her.

And she’s really sick of people asking her about Julia. Julia’s gone now, and she doesn’t want to talk about it. They wouldn’t get it, anyway. They wouldn’t understand what it feels like to have your best friend ripped away from you.

They wouldn’t understand what it feels like to know it’s your fault.

Amy’s shrink thinks it would help to start a diary. Instead, Amy starts writing letters to Julia.

But as she writes letter after letter, she begins to realize that the past wasn’t as perfect as she thought it was—and the present deserves a chance too.

IMG_0969  IMG_0966

What I had never had the pleasure of was hearing her speak about writing and her books. Elizabeth Scott is very funny and is very quick with her replies (she also really likes the word ‘crap’). Not only did I have the pleasure of hearing her speak, I was able to meet her at the Harlequin TEEN booth. Elizabeth is super sweet and extremely talented!

I’m currently reading the ARC of Heartbeat I received at BEA. The cover has yet to be released, so on goodreads.com there isn’t even a photo yet! I am only on page 21, but I like how the story has begun so far. My review will be posted on Friday. Anyone else get the change to read the ARC yet? I love comments, so let me know what you thought.

************************************************************************************************************************

photo

Heartbeat

by Elizabeth Scott

Life. Death. And…Love?

Emma would give anything to talk to her mother one last time. Tell her about her slipping grades, her anger with her stepfather, and the boy with the bad reputation who might be the only one Emma can be herself with.

But Emma can’t tell her mother anything. Because her mother is brain-dead and being kept alive by machines for the baby growing inside her.

Meeting bad-boy Caleb Harrison wouldn’t have interested Old Emma. But New Emma-the one who exists in a fog of grief, who no longer cares about school, whose only social outlet is her best friend Olivia-New Emma is startled by the connection she and Caleb forge.

Feeling her own heart beat again wakes Emma from the grief that has grayed her existence. Is there hope for life after death-and maybe, for love?

Posted on July 22, 2013, in ARC, ARC Spotlight, BEA, Signed Books, YA Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

