Five Minute Friday: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

Boy, do I have a story for you about getting my grubby little hands on the ARC of Holly Black’s very anticipated The Coldest Girl in Coldtown at BEA.

First of all, I was DYING to have this book! I had planned to stand in line for Holly until I realized that about five other authors were signing at the exact same time and I had to choose. I really didn’t want to. Luckily, fate stepped in.

This year, for those of you who don’t know that I’m a middle school teacher, my school district paid for me to attend BEA. I know, unheard of right? Right. Well, I feel like I am the leader in my building of getting kids excited about reading. There are really no other language arts teachers that keep up on the latest books, read the latest books, or talk to the kids about the latest books (yes, this is all very sad).

Anyway, I asked to go and was given the thumbs up as long as I invited my other colleagues to go with me. I groaned about it, but asked. Only one other teacher raised her hand. A former math teacher for 20 years, who was to be teaching her first year of LA. Seeing that she had no experience with what kids were reading, she felt this was the perfect way to learn. Plus, she is AWESOME and a TON of fun!

 

 

IMG_0981

 

“W” getting her first autograph by Dot Hutchinson.

W got into the groove as soon as we entered BEA. Using our cell phones to text and find out where each of us were at any given moment was mostly the only communication we had the first day. W ran around talking to people, grabbing books she thought were good for our age group.

On our way out day 1, W came walking over to me with this in her hand:

12813630

I was like, “Where did you get that!?” And then proceeded to freak out! It took us 15 minutes or so to find where she picked up her copy, but eventually I had one of my own. Talk about relief! W wasn’t really sure what I was so hyped about, but hopefully once she reads her copy she’ll understand:)

For those of you who have only just heard about this book and/or this author, you MUST get a copy when The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is released in September 2013. Holly is an amazing writer. I am currently on page 353 and the suspense is killing me! A review will be posted shortly, but for now, here’s a little taste of what I’m reading…

Goodreads Summary:

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is a wholly original story of rage and revenge, of guilt and horror, and of love and loathing from bestselling and acclaimed author Holly Black.

A little teaser for you all:

Death is the kind of this world: ‘Tis his park where he breeds life to feed him. Cries of pain are music for his banquet. -George Eliot

Posted on July 5, 2013, in ARC, BEA, Five Minute Friday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

