Five Minute Friday: Two Boys Kissing

I have created a new feature for my blog called Five Minute Friday. This is where I will take five minutes and review a book I’m currently reading or have read during the week. For the next few months, I will focus mainly on books from BEA:)

***********************************************************************************************************************

17237214-2Two Boys Kissing

by David Levithan
New York Times bestselling author David Levithan tells the based-on-true-events story of Harry and Craig, two 17-year-olds who are about to take part in a 32-hour marathon of kissing to set a new Guinness World Record—all of which is narrated by a Greek Chorus of the generation of gay men lost to AIDS.

While the two increasingly dehydrated and sleep-deprived boys are locking lips, they become a focal point in the lives of other teen boys dealing with languishing long-term relationships, coming out, navigating gender identity, and falling deeper into the digital rabbit hole of gay hookup sites—all while the kissing former couple tries to figure out their own feelings for each other.

*Summary and photo from Goodreads*

**ARC obtained during BEA with no obligation or compensation given for a review.

***********************************************************************************************************************

David Levithan is such an amazing writer! I was really struck by his words in Two Boys Kissing. Not only did I find myself rooting on Harry and Craig, but I also was so invested in the other gay teens’ lives (Peter, Neil, Ryan, Avery, Cooper and Tariq). I wish there was total acceptance in this world for people of every race, ethnicity and sexual preference. That was what this book was to me. A plea for acceptance. I thank David for having the courage to write this story and the publisher for printing it. This book and its message is long overdue!

pink_lips

pink_lipspink_lipspink_lipspink_lips

5 out of 5 kisses

Posted on June 7, 2013, in ARC Review, BEA, Five Minute Friday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

