The Morning Star: Book Tour and Author Interview

TMSBT

Check out the all the blog hosts and tour dates HERE.

17237555

Publication Date: January 10th, 2013
Publisher: self-pub
 
Being the daughter of Lucifer keeps seventeen year old Dawn Belial busy. For almost her entire lifetime, she has been trying to think of a way to free her Archangel mother, Michaela, whom her father has held captive for centuries. She’s also attending high school – balancing trigonometry, history, and recruiting souls for her father along with her wicked half-sister, Venus.There has been no time for love until she meets mysterious Gabriel, a British exchange student. As they fall in love against their will, she discovers a startling secret about him, and a shocking connection to her mother that changes everything.

Interview with Amy:

1. Where did you get the idea for The Morning Star?

It’s been simmering in my mind since 2005, coincidentally with the release of Twilight, but before I

heard about it.  I wanted to write a love story between the daughter of Lucifer, and at first, with an

archangel.  Then I sat on it for a year and decided to go with the concept of his daughter falling in

love with the son of an archangel.  Then the whole “Romeo and Juliet” thing came about, warring

families, forbidden love.  I just wasn’t sure why Lucifer and this Archangel would be quarreling, so I

sat on it for another year, developing the characters in my head.  During that time I came up with the

whole “Cinderella” aspect with the wicked step-mother (Lilith), and her “succu-spawn” half-sister

Venus.  I started researching about angels, were there any female ones?  All I could find was that

they were neither he nor she, so Michaela came about as the lone wolf, so to speak.   It all just bled

from there 🙂

2.  I understand you are working on the sequel Equinox, but are there any other books planned in

the series?

Yes, I am planning on it being a trilogy only at this point.  If it gains momentum and I find that I

haven’t yet finished telling Gabriel and Dawn’s story, I will end it with a fourth, or a novella, but as of

now, it’s three.

3. On Goodreads, you say you have 12 other books in the works, OMG!  Are you writing all of these

at the same time, or are they just ideas for later?

Currently, I am writing on 3 others besides Equinox right now — a chick-lit/rom-com/mildy-sleazy/

rom-com/romance with a twist called “Catching Frogs”  that I am shooting for a mid-April release.  I’m

also writing a horror-comedy and a sci-fi aquatic thriller that keeps getting pushed to the back

burner.  I actually started writing that one before TMS, and really need to finish it!  The others have a

chapter written, and include another young adult novel, an erotica one, a dystopia political

apocalyptic thriller , a mystery, and one I am really looking forward to writing, a “Sex in the City” type

of novel, but from a guys point of view!

4.   Do you have any writing quirks (other than writing an insane amount?

I have quirks, period!    I do write better either very early in the morning, say at 5:30 am, and have to

eat a brownie with coffee, or very late at night with a glass of Malbec and some cheese bread.   And

if I get stuck on my story, I close it and start working on one of my others 🙂

5.  Do you write while listening to music?  Any song in particular that you listened to on repeat while

writing The Morning Star.

Always have Spotify or iTunes on.  Three songs that were on constant repeat for inspiration were I’ll

follow you into the dark, by Death Cab for Cutie, which is Dawn and Gabriel’s theme song, Oh What

a Thrill, by the Mavericks, just because they are my favorite band, and Dawn and Gabriel’s first kiss

almost happen during that song at their concert, and Poison and Wine, by the Civil Wars because it

is so haunting and heartbreaking!

6.  Anything else you’d like your readers and fans to know about you?

I am probably the most ridiculously goofy person I know, and have no shame!  If someone was to

dare me to do a solo flash mob to Gagnam Style in a crowded mall, no questions asked, I would do

it.  I have no problem making an ass out of myself!   I fronted a country band a few years ago and we

had an internet hit in Europe.  My first real job was as a police and fire dispatcher in Los Angeles,

and I even was an extra on a episode of “Rescue 9-1-1”  William Shatner was a cool guy.  Oh yeah,

and I’ve been a movie extra also, dating myself here — if you ever watch “Great Balls of Fire” at the

very last scene where he’s singing “Wild One”, you can catch me in my blonde hair and bouncing

green scarf on the bottom right of your screen!    I’m a descendant of Marie Antoinette.  She’s like my

great , great, great, great aunt on my moms side.  And also on my mom’s side, my great grandma

was a lover of Nicholas II of Russia.  True story!  Looking back, I’ve had quite the colorful life, and I

haven’t even used all the crayons yet!

photo

Author of debut young adult novel, The Morning Star. Currently working on the sequel, Equinox, as well as a chick-lit, rom-com, slightly sleazy and funny story with a twist, Catching Frogs. And, because I’m loco in the roco, I’ve got about 12 more on the back burner. When I’m not writing I can be found kayaking, hiking, ninja-training, traveling, and taking a ferry over to the San Juan Islands to search for the elusive creature known as the “Orca.” I also am constantly adding ridiculous wants, needs, must-see’s and do’s to my ever expanding bucket book.
I covet a delicious malbec with a rare steak and make a killer salsa.
Posted on April 24, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Writing 3 books at the same time!?! Wow, I would struggle just to write one, lol.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

