Guest Post: Resisting Fate by Heather L. Powell

Resisting Fate Cover

 

Eighteen Year old Emmy O’Connell is the epitome of a hot mess right now. The supposed love of her life up and left town to attend some ridiculous boarding school, leaving nothing but a vague email in his wake. Her step douche is constantly drunk and badgering her too, and her mother? Well, she’s a just a miserable shell of a woman, and Emmy, along with her four year old brother, are suffering because the lady just can’t seem to get her life straight. And then the elusive Jack Hartman saunters into town. That’s when things go from downright awful … to just plain disastrous.  The jerk cousin of her boyfriend becomes Emmy’s worst nightmare, times ten. He’s cruel and insensitive, but then there’s that strange ability he has over her; the one where he can make Emmy weak in the knees with the single touch of his hand. But no matter how miserable or amazing Jack makes her feel, Emmy can’t seem to deny him, especially when he takes on the role of her protector, otherwise known as her sudo knight in shining armor, riding in on his black Harley.  But then the impossible happens, rearing its head in the shape of a hairy wolf shifter. And the stubborn, unassuming Emmy is thrown head first into the center of it all. Will Emmy be able to handle the supernatural mess that is now considered her life? Or in the end, will she fight against the inevitable fate that her heart keeps insisting she grabs a hold of?

 

Website Facebook

 

About the Author:

Heather Powell currently resides in northern Illinois, with her three little ladies, and her fabulous hubby (and high school sweetheart) Chris. She’s a stay at home mom by day, and an avid and completely obsessive writer and reader by night.

Heather has always had a soft spot in her heart for books, and has been creating her own little stories since the age of seven. But she never really had the confidence or the time to actually sit down and make something of her stories until her youngest daughter Isabella was born just two years ago. Bella, as well as her older sisters Kelsey and Emma, are and always will be Heather’s greatest inspirations.

Resisting Fate, book one in the Pre-Determined trilogy, is her young adult, paranormal baby! It’s packed full of wolves…witches…and one sassy little red-headed teenage girl! She had an absolute blast writing it, and can’t wait to share it with the world!

*****************************************************************************************************************************

GUEST POST

My own YA love story by Heather Powell

 

I love YA books, there’s no question about that. I love the idea of first love, that possibility of finding your one true soul mate when you’re just sixteen or seventeen years old. It never fails to make me swoon; to make me want to relive it over and over again myself. Guess that’s why re-reading books has become a bit of a habit of mine. In fact, I think I guiltily read the Twilight Series at least ten times in a row. It got to be so bad that I made my husband hide the books from me just so I could move on with my life.

I remember when I first fell in love. It was that sucks you in kind of love, the kind that hurts your heart so badly, that you can hardly stand it. But yet you can’t let it go either because it still feels so darn good! I was sixteen years old, and it was the summer before my junior year of high school when it all went down.

His name was Chris and he quickly became the love of my life, and my whole world at that. He was just fifteen years old, *gasp*I know, a younger man, LOL.  But technically he was only ten months younger than me, so it was okay. He had this dimpled cheek that I wanted to kiss over and over again. His eyes were so dark, that I constantly lost myself in them when he looked at me. And that smile too… oh God, I loved it, needed it. Heck, I was obsessed with. And yes, as pathetic as it may sound, I’d do absolutely anything for it.

We dated for four months, a record for teenagers back in the late nineties, I’d say. We held hands in the hall, kissed by our lockers, and I attended all his football games and wrestling matches, even convinced my parents to let me travel out town to go see him in all his athletic glory. I was so head over heels for him, that I never saw the break-up coming. And then when he did … it was in a note, after school, after he had just held my hand under the table at lunch only two hours before. I was so broken, that I didn’t think I could put myself back together again.

Fifteen years later, I’m a whole woman … and Chris and I are happily married; three beautiful little girls and all our past indiscretions behind us to prove that.

I’m not saying it was easy. Heck, it’s still to this day a challenge at times, especially now with kiddos under our belt. But each time I look into his eyes, and stare at his dimple, and lose myself in his smile, I know that everything that’s ever happened to us has been worth it. And I can’t wait to see what the rest of our story entails.

Resisting Fate Graphic

Posted on February 12, 2013, in Guest Post and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

