ARC Review: Just One Day by Gayle Forman

 

 

 

 

12842115

 

 

Just One Day

by Gayle Forman

368 pages

Release Date: January 8, 2013

ARC Received by: Library Thing Early Reviewers

Summary and Photo from Goodreads
When sheltered American good girl Allyson “LuLu” Healey first meets laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter at an underground performance of Twelfth Night in England, there’s an undeniable spark. After just one day together, that spark bursts into a flame, or so it seems to Allyson, until the following morning, when she wakes up after a whirlwind day in Paris to discover that Willem has left. Over the next year, Allyson embarks on a journey to come to terms with the narrow confines of her life, and through Shakespeare, travel, and a quest for her almost-true-love, to break free of those confines.

Just One Day is the first in a sweepingly romantic duet of novels. Willem’s story—Just One Year—is coming soon!

****************************************************************************************************************************

When I found out that I would be awarded an ARC of Just One Day, I was super excited! I love Gayle Forman’s writing, siting If I Stay as one of my all-time favorite books! I have yet to read anything in the New Adult category, so I was ready for my mind to be blown. And blown it was!

I am having a hard time containing my excitement about this story, but I seriously don’t want to give anything away. Not knowing what would happen to Allyson, Willem, and Melanie kept me turning the pages and I fell in love with Just One Day. I hope that you will also want to read this without any spoilers too!

To anyone who is criticizing this category: you need to read this story. It is one that is not written to just make a category new. It is a story told about adults who do adult-like things; like college and traveling and having sex with a stranger. These are not adventures taken by 15 year-olds, but adults making their way in the world on their own. And falling in love.

I applaud Gayle for her writing style and her beautiful story. Everyone 18-25 should read Just One Day!

pink_lipspink_lipspink_lipspink_lipspink_lips

 

5 out of 5 kisses!

Posted on December 27, 2012, in ARC Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

