NaNo Floundering

Okay, I know I said I wouldn’t post much during NaNo but I changed my mind.

I am kind of floundering with NaNo. Why? Because there are so many things to do every single day. I have had nights that my son needed my computer and then when finally it was time to go to bed, I was too tired. I still hold out hope to make my word count goal of 60,000 by November 30th. I will use my weekends to the fullest extent I am able to and make up for the days where I just couldn’t.

How is everyone else doing with NaNo madness?

Posted on November 8, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m right there with you. I keep telling myself that I’m going to stick to a schedule, but then things come up like errands to run, or simple distractions, and before I know it, it’s ten at night and I’m too tired to stare at a computer screen for another couple hours to try to get some serious words in. Argh!

    Plus, this is my first year doing it and I’m not published or anything yet, so it’s a little overwhelming as a project in its entirety. It’s scary! I had an author friend talk me down the other night because I went into total meltdown “it’s complete crap, every word!”

    So I feel ya. To an outsider looking in, Nano is just a project or something and they might scoff at it…to those participating, it’s actually a huge undertaking and it’s stressful. Add the fact that our hearts are in it (at least mine is, I really want to accomplish this and get a story written if for no other reason than to say that I was able to) and it’s nothing to scoff at.

    If interested and we’re not already friends, feel free to add me 🙂 Buffy Kennedy

    • You totally understand what I’m feeling! Last year I started NaNo and then bagged it. I wasn’t ready for it at all. This year, I am hoping to finish my entire WIP and begin the long process of revising and editing in the New Year.

      Finishing is nothing but a miracle, one that ordinary people don’t understand. I have even heard people say that because I am writing, I have no friends, no life which is not even close to being true. Yes, 30 days to write 50,000 words is crazy, but we do it any way. Hopefully at least some of those 50,000 words make sense together! I guess we just need to take it one day at a time.

      I will definitely find you on NaNo:)

      Thanks Buffy!

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

