The Color of Grace by Linda Kage

Title : The Color of Grace
Author : Linda Kage
Genre : Contemporary YA Romance / YA Chick-Lit
Publisher : Whiskey Creek Press
ISBN : 978-1-61160-307-1
Length : 81,000 words – 333 pages
Release Date : September 15, 2012
Readership : Typically Girl, ages 13 & up
Formats : Ebook in Print

Buy Links :
Whiskey Creek Press
Amazon Kindle
Barnes and Noble Nook
Fictionwise
eReader.com

In Print:
Whiskey Creek Press
Amazon

What the story is about :
When it comes to fight or flight, Grace Indigo runs every time. Intimidated, She ran off when the dazzling handsome Ryder Yates merely asked her for her name. Angry, She stormed from the room when her mother told her she had to transfer to a new school. And scared, she climbed out her bedroom window, making a mad dash for it, when her new stepfather put the moves on her. But what happens when a sixteen-year-old girl used to running from her problems finds herself trapped with her back against the wall…and nowhere to flee?
In THE COLOR OF GRACE, Grace’s mom truly believes that she is lying about something…here’s author Linda Grace’s interesting take on lying AND a sneak peek into her story.

******************************************************************

LIAR, LIAR

STORY EXCERPT:

I had to get my mother alone, then I had to bolster my courage and somehow spit out the truth.

That’s all there was to it.

But when I arrived home, the first thing I heard when I opened the front door was, “Parents, don’t ever believe anything your teen tells you. Because they’ll lie…every time.”

Say what?

Frowning, I clutching the straps of my book bag tight and hurried to the entrance of the living room, only to stumble to a halt when I saw Mom standing frozen in front of the television, remote in hand as she stared transfixed at the screen where a girl sat, being interviewed. Silver studs pierced her eyebrows, nose, ears, and bottom lips. A black, tribal-looking design tattooed a half ring around one eye and blonde, Jamaican dreadlocks covered her head, spilling down her shoulders. She sat in an interview chair and leaned forward in a dramatic pose as she stared out at my mother. And my mother seemed to swallow every word she said.

“My parents thought I was going to soccer practice after school every day, when really, I snuck off to my boyfriend’s garage to watch his band practice and get high with them.”

My jaw dropped as Mom sucked in a horrified gasp and lifted both her hands to cup her face. From my side view, I saw a trembling tear hover in the corner of her eye. The overhanging chandelier caught it in a prism-like effect, and it blinked out toward me like a light bulb, letting me see how clearly my plan to “talk” to my mother about [spoiler DELETE] was a worthless effort.

 Parents, don’t ever believe anything your teen tells you.

Dear God, why would someone ever say that? I had never lied to my mom…well, except when [spoiler DELETE] but that lie had been majorly white, and I probably would’ve spilled everything about him if [spoiler DELETE].

Grr. I wanted to storm into the living room, grab the remote control from her hand and turn that after-school special garbage off. Not every teenager on the planet did drugs, participated in premarital sex, or lied about where she was going to be.

***

One TV series I’ve become obsessed with watching these days is Pretty Little Liars on ABCFamily. You should’ve seen me trying cook supper while I watched the season finale for Season Two when “A” was revealed.  Yeah, that was interesting. I don’t think anyone in the family—me included—could tell you exactly what meal I fixed!

One thing impressed upon me while getting into this series, however, was how quickly one little lie can spiral so totally out of control. All the lies you have to think up to cover the original lie is crazy confusing.  Then you have to come up with lies to cover the lies that are covering up the lies which cover up the lie that…

Well, you get the drift.

I can’t remember lying to my parents when I was a teenager.  Sure, there were a few times I might’ve neglected to tell them a few facts, but I never did anything to the scale of the girls off Pretty Little Liars.

Grace, the heroine, in my story The Color of Grace, is more like me, I think. She doesn’t think up any grand, elaborate lie to keep a gruesome murder quiet (like they do in PLL).  But she does omit telling her mom a few things she should probably mention as soon as they happen to avoid a problem she encounters.

What’s worse, her relationship with her mom deteriorates over the process of the story to the point her mother doesn’t believe a thing Grace tells her, so in return, Grace reaches a point where she simply cannot confess anything.

So, yeah, I guess even a lie of omission can turn around and bite you in the butt. And that is my after-school-special message of the day!

But seriously, I myself am the type that totally sucks at lying.  My face turns red, my hands start to shake, my heart thumps so hard I swear people in the next town over can hear the wild, ka-boom, ka-boom, ka-boom coming from my chest.  I can’t do an out-and-out, look-you-in-the-eye lie. I’m much more of an omitter liar.

Now share your lying talent.

What kind of liar are you?  Can you meet a direct gaze and create a perfectly believable fib, making your intended recipient buy every word you say? Or do you just keep quiet about a few certain things and hope to God no one asks you about them directly?

***************************************************************************************************************

What did I think about THE COLOR OF GRACE?

When first approached by Linda to read and review her book, I was slightly hesitant. I have read quite a few stories lately that just haven’t done it for me. I mean, they weren’t badly written or plotless I just wanted more. This is one story I just LOVED!! I am so glad that Linda reached out to me! This is one author that I will read again:)

As for the story, the characters were so real to me. These were teens that I went to school with. They had real feelings and thoughts, but weren’t crazy. There was no “oh my gosh I am just so super in love with this boy I am going to kiss him, quickly jump into the sack with him, and then never talk to my friends again” action. That’s not to say that I wasn’t invested in the characters, in fact this was a refreshing change. I was super worried about Grace and Ryder throughout the entire story. There is a wonderful message about friendship and morals, but it is so subtle that you only read a whisp of it on the pages. No preaching here! And the end–well, I can’t tell you what happens but you won’t be disappointed.

5 out of 5 kisses

***************************************************************************************************************

Linda grew up on a dairy farm in the Midwest as the youngest of eight children. Now she lives in Kansas with her husband, toddler daughter, and their nine cuckoo clocks. She works a day job in the acquisitions department of a university library and feels her life has been blessed with lots of people to learn from and love. Writing’s always been a major part of her world, and she’s thrilled to finally share some of her stories with other romance lovers.

 

Posted on October 7, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I LOVE PLL too! So much so that if I kept watching, I think I would become crazy obsessive. And I knew after the season ended, I would be moody for a while (like a caffeine withdrawal). So after the 15th or so episode of Season 2, I vowed to only watch when there are enough episodes out that I could watch ten or so episodes consecutively. 😉

  2. Sounds like the characters are interesting and challenging at the same time. Thanks for the post.

  3. I’m pretty much a, “if you aren’t ready to hear the answer, don’t ask the question” person. Lying just creates drama, and my life is an anti-drama zone!

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  4. For some reason I think I’m a pretty good liar… I’m not sure why, but I am. However I’m worse when it comes to lying to people I’m close with… I rarely do that, but if I ever do I feel way more uncomfortable about, and I think that shows. Overall though I would think that I try and speak the truth… because you’re right, one little thing can quickly spiral out of control. Most of the time the truth is just best for everyone.

  5. Thanks so much for letting me stop by and blather on this weekend, Amy! I had fun reading everyone’s comments and I LOVED your review.

    Ana – Good idea about saving up to watch a bunch of episodes in a row. I’ll have to try that. Some of those nail-biting cliff hangers drive crazy with waiting!

    Elie- Thanks for popping in! I think the characters in the book have their good points and bad points!

    Elizabeth – Ah, you’re one of those brutally honest people, huh!! My mom is too. I definitely don’t ask her if my butt looks big anymore!!!

    Ashley – I think that’s pretty cool you can’t lie to those who are the closest to you!

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

