Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins: Blog Tour


 

Sweet Evil

Written by: Wendy Higgins

Published by: Harper Teen

Page Count: 447 pages

Embrace the Forbidden

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels.

Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but Anna, the ultimate good girl, has always had the advantage of her angel side to balance the darkness within. It isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?`

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My interview with Wendy…

Thanks Wendy for taking time to answer some questions for your
stalkers, I mean fans 🙂
1. I read in your bio that you are a former high school English teacher. How did that experience help you with writing? What do you feel is the most important thing to teach kids today about writing?

~ I’ve always loved working with teens, probably because I can
remember my teen years so clearly, and relate to what they’re going through. Being a high school
teacher was fun because I got to share my love of reading, and help put books in the hands of
reluctant readers. Nothing was better than having students say they hated reading, and then to
watch them fall in love with a book that was seemingly written just for them.
Writing is a funny thing today because poor spelling and punctuation skills are becoming more
and more “okay” due to text-talk. And I’m okay with text-talk when
we’re texting, but I think people should still be able to write an essay/story/book correctly.

2. I LOVE Inkpop! What a unique story you have to share about your obtaining an agent. Would you suggest this route to others?

~ Oh, man. I used to be so addicted to Inkpop, lol! All day, every day, for three months straight
I was doing reads, responding to comments, and revising my story after getting feedback from
other Inkpoppers. It was awesome. One of the Inkies who read my book and loved it introduced
me to her agent, who then signed me that same week. It was neat. Unfortunately that agent and I
have since parted ways because I want an agent who shares a passion for my story and is active
in the Young Adult book world, but it was so nice to have him at my side when HarperCollins
read my story on Inkpop and came knocking!

3. How did you go about finding other critique partners? How did they help your story?

~ I have about ten trusted critique partners and almost all of them are people I met on Inkpop.
Each of them has a different way they look at a story, or something different they focus on when
they critique. Their strengths, combined, help me to edit and revise all aspects of my stories.
I would never want to publish a book without their feedback first. They keep my stories from
sucking too terribly.

4. I know you are anxiously awaiting your sequel to be picked up, what are you doing to stay sane?

~ This summer has been so busy with traveling and family vacations, so thankfully my mind
has been occupied with that. I’ve also been doing a lot of beta reading for my critique partners,
reading published stuff for fun, and I did some revisions of the sequel to get it to a place where I
finally love it.

5. How do you balance being a mom and a writer?

~ Being a mom comes first, so it’s all about using my free time wisely (because I don’t have
much of it). I tend to get the most accomplished at night after the kids go to bed (no television
watching for me—something had to go to make time). I can’t write when my kids are with me,
but I can take care of some social networking things on the computer while they’re busy. I really
have to lose myself when I write, and that’s never a good thing when you have a 3-year-old
adventurous son on the loose, haha.

6. What parting advice do you have for unpublished writers?

~ Don’t compare yourself to others, don’t be so hard on yourself, and don’t give up. It’s easier
said than done. The entire process to publication takes so very long. You’re not alone in your
tortuous wait. We’ve all been there. Keep at it, and write, write,write!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What did I Think?

Wow! Ever since I finished reading Sweet Evil, I have been trying to figure out just how I would explain myself. Ya know, be articulate about my reasons, but it is going to be very difficult. I absolutely LOVED Sweet Evil! There are so many reasons why, but the main one has to be Kaidan Rowe! I mean I am a total sucker for drummers, so this was the first thing that drew me to Kaidan.

The second reason is his intensity. Talk about passion! I felt myself rooting for Anna to get her man and keep him through the entire story! Once I got to the end and realized that there would just have to be another book, I kind of freaked out! I mean, I just want to find out what happens NOW!

This is definitely a book I recommend.

5 out of 5 kisses from me!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Want More? Here ya go!

Read the first eight chapters here: http://browseinside.harperteen.com/index.aspx?isbn13=9780062085610

Add Sweet Evil to your TBR list: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11808950-sweet-evil

Sweet Evil on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sweet-Evil-novel-by-Wendy-Higgins/118348174915427

Sweet Evil Kai buttons: http://i1074.photobucket.com/albums/w418/Wendy_Higgins/DrumStickSquareTeamKai.jpg

http://i1074.photobucket.com/albums/w418/Wendy_Higgins/DrumSticksISighForKaiSquare.jpg

Posted on September 4, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you so much for hosting me!! 🙂

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

