Noctalis Blog Tour

Today is a very exciting day here at Kissed by Ink. Chelsea Cameron, author of Nocturnal and Nightmare is stopping by my little piece of the internet! For those of you who haven’t heard of Chelsea before, you’ll be glad you found your way here. Below you will find lots of information about Chelsea and her books, plus there is a little scavenger hunt word for you to find. (hint the word is in bold and may be underlined:)) Make sure to check out the other blogs on this tour @ supagurlbooks

Chelsea M. Cameron is a YA writer from Maine. Lover of things random and ridiculous, Jane Austen/Charlotte and Emily Bronte Fangirl, red velvet cake enthusiast, obsessive tea drinker, vegetarian, former cheerleader and world’s worst video gamer. When not writing, she enjoys watching infomercials, vacuuming and tweeting. She has a degree in journalism from the University of Maine, Orono that she promptly abandoned to write about the people in her own head.

**********************************************************************************************************************

Want to know a little more about Chelsea? She was kind enough to answer a few questions about herself…

I read some where that you love vacuuming. Seriously? Why vacuuming? On that note–want to come vacuum my house? Just kidding!

I was going for dorky, and it’s true, I actually enjoy vacuuming. I worked one summer at an inn, and I was in charge of vacuuming all three floors, and every single room I cleaned. Every day. I don’t know if it’s the noise, or the repetitive movement, but it de-stresses me. When I do my house I put on my iPod and dance. I’m really glad no one has filmed this ūüėČ

Are you a plotster? A pantster? A little of both?

I’ve tried to plot. It just doesn’t happen. I’ve pantsed every single book I’ve published, and I don’t plan on changing. I don’t know what the story is until I’ve written it, if that makes any sense. I love letting the story happen and seeing where it goes. Sometimes I get on a wrong path, and I have to go back and take another one, but I feel like the story evolves in such an organic way. Nearly all of the twists and turns and “oh snap!” moments in my books were not planned. I’m usually just as shocked as the readers when they happen.

Where do you get your inspiration?

I should say something like art or looking at nature or something, but really, I don’t know. Most of the time my ideas come to me when I’m not really thinking about anything. I can’t force ideas. The idea for this series came to me while I was watching a commercial for Desperate Housewives and one of the characters plucked an apple off a tree. Somehow that led to my first visual of Peter, and the rest of the story came from there. I’m working on a New Adult Contemporary Romance which came to me when I was half asleep, so I grabbed a notebook and a pen and BAM! new story. Most of my ideas are like that. They hit me over the head until I sit down and listen to them.

What does a typical writing day look like for you?

I work a regular job until 4:15 every day, and I usually start writing around 6 at night. It depends on what I’m working on, but I can go anywhere from three to four or five hours. I usually start by checking emails, twitter, etc and then I just write. Sometimes I listen to music, and I always have the television on because I write in my living room. This seems like a bad idea, but I actually need a lot of noise so my brain can focus. It’s like I need something to tune out. I do the bulk of my writing on the weekends. Ideally, I’ll have the television on low, with something mindless like infomercials or an old movie I’ve seen a million times, and then pandora on my iPod. Sounds crazy, but it works for me.

Do you type or write long-hand?

I mostly type because I can type faster than I can write longhand, but sometimes if I’m working on something new, I’ll draft it out in a notebook first. Then I can edit it while I’m transferring it to the computer. I also turn to pen and paper if I’m stuck with an idea. There’s something about changing up the way I write that seems to solve any problems I come across.

When I write, I indulge in Good-n-Plenties candy. Do you have a special writing food?

Most of the time when I’m writing, I forget to eat, but I do like having snacks handy when I take a little break. I’m a huge chocolate lover (who isn’t?) so I love oreos (especially the peanut butter ones), M & M’s, Reeses and Nutella with Fluff on graham crackers. I also love having tea with me because it makes me feel like a grown-up writer person.

Although writing is part of my soul, I didn’t begin writing until a few years ago. How and when did you become the writer you are today?

The long and short of it is that I’ve always loved books, but I have not always loved writing. I didn’t know I was ‘allowed’ to be a writer. Sounds silly, doesn’t it? I thought writers were special people, and not mere mortals. My teachers had always encouraged me, and one in particular pushed me into AP English in high school. When I went to college, I chose journalism because I knew writing was something I could do well, so I might as well go with that. Midway through my junior year I realized I didn’t want to write news articles, I wanted to write fiction. So I had an idea and started it,¬†abandoned¬†it and started another. It took me four years to write my first book, which will remain unpublished. It was my practice book. Someday I’d like to go back and read it. I was going to do the traditional route, but then I heard about Amanda Hocking and the rest is history. Learning that I could indie publish my work did wonders for my productivity. NaNoWriMo also helped. I’ve written seven books and am working on my eighth and ninth, and I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon. I have way too many ideas that need to be told.

Any parting advice for unpublished writers? Teens/adults who aspire to be writers?

You can’t fix a blank page. Don’t worry about your writing being awful. Just get something on the page, and then you have something to work with. Your first efforts won’t be Shakespeare. It’s going to be rough and messy, and that’s okay. You can always fix and tweak and change. Don’t be afraid to scrap twenty or forty pages if it doesn’t work. Don’t be afraid to start over. I wrote my first book in three different genres in past and present tense. I have all it stored in a box. It’s a heck of a lot of words that will never see the light of day, but they’re not wasted. There is no such thing as wasted writing. Even just sitting and thinking about your story and where it’s going next is writing. The other thing I’d say is write what YOU want to write. Don’t try to conform to a specific genre or storyline that is “hot” right now. I tried to do that, and ended up with some pretty awful stuff. Once I decided to let the story tell me what it was going to be, the flood gates opened and I had more ideas that time to write them. Keep going and don’t let anyone tell you writing is a waste of time. Watching a Jersey Shore marathon is a waste of time. Writing is not.

************************************************************************************************************************

Seventeen-year-old Ava-Claire Sullivan isn’t one for doing the expected. Especially when she finds out her mother’s cancer is terminal. After a crying session in the local cemetery where she’s attacked by one strange guy and saved by another, she doesn’t call the cops. Because those guys definitely weren’t your average hooligans.And the one who sort-of saved her? Well, he’s odd. He doesn’t seem to breathe or smile or have anything better to do than wait in the cemetery for Ava to come back. Which she does. Call it morbid curiosity. Even after he warns her that he’s dangerous, she can’t stop wanting to see him, talk to him, be with him.

There’s something about Peter that provides a much-needed escape from her mother’s diagnosis and her tenuous relationship with her father. Even her best friends Jamie and Texas don’t know what it’s like to face death. But Peter does. He already has. He also made a promise a long time ago that could destroy both of them.

When everything in your life is falling apart, what are you willing to give up to hold onto the one thing that could last forever?

What did I think?

The good: This story concept was very interesting. I was very drawn to the character of Peter because he is so different from other male supernatural beings in popular books. Peter is very reserved and quiet and not one to gush about his feelings. Ava is the one who finds herself telling Peter things about her life that she doesn’t even share with her best friend. Maybe the handsome stranger appeal is at work here:)

The okay: I found the beginning very slow. Once I got through the first chapter os so, the writing really began to flow and ideas connected. The relationship between Ava and Peter was odd in the beginning. First she is almost killed, then Ava sees Peter wearing ripped and dirty clothing, then she begins to seek him out in the graveyard. Her actions don’t become clear until later in the story. Once Ava’s real feelings and need is revealed, the pieces all fall into place.

So…basically I liked¬†Nocturnal. Those of you who enjoy supernatural stories will like this series!

************************************************************************************************************************

Ava-Claire Sullivan still doesn’t follow the rules. She shouldn’t have let Peter Claim her, turning her into his own personal¬†

blood bank. She shouldn’t have told Tex Peter was immortal because now her best friend won’t shut up about hooking up with Peter’s equally immortal brother, Viktor. And she shouldn’t have fallen in love with Peter.Too late.

Sometimes, love kills. One promise Peter made nearly a hundred years ago could do it. A kiss, a touch could be the end of him. So all she has to do is not let him fall in love with her. Easier said than done.

But Ava’s going to find a way for him to be free, even if it kills her. Or makes her immortal. There’s no way she’s losing Peter in addition to her mother. No freaking way.

What would you do when the one you love would die if they loved you back?

************************************************************************************************************************

Want something REALLY FREAKIN’ AWESOME? I wish I had some font package so I could have a few of these announcements in blinking text, but anyway here’s some fun stuff just for you…

Nocturnal and Nightmare will be free from Aug. 10th through Aug 14th on Amazon!! 

Join us for Nocturnal Night on August 30th 8pm EST / 7pm CST for a LIVE Video chat with Author of Nocturnal and Nightmare Chelsea Cameron.

We will be chatting about everything from her books, the writing process, to Edward v/s Jacob *grins* There will be some giveaways going on too. Don’t have a webcam? No worries you can still totally join in with text chatting. You will be able to see everyone else. Shy? Don’t be we are all eager to meet you!! Join us for a night of Awesome.

http://nocturnalnight.eventbrite.com/

You can preregister at the above link. Which would be amazing or you can just show up…

On that night be sure to enter the chat with this link *Will also be up on SupaGurl Books www.supagurlbooks.blogspot.com*

http://shindig.com/event/nocturnal

 

 

 

Posted on August 13, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This sounds like a great book Thanks for sharing great interview!

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

