Thoughts of an Unknown Writer (7)

Grrr argg! I know, I haven’t been posting much lately and I am quite upset with myself for it but I do have some great excuses reasons for being absent. Very simply I have been very busy with my kids. Seeing that this is summer, I have been carting my family around to the pool, friend’s houses, movies, drive-in, and to the local amusement park. Today, I decided it was time to get back on the horse.

Let me just say that I feel very much a writer today. I have begun a rejection file on my computer! Whoot! I know that for most people this is a complete bummer, but for me it is still very exciting. I mean, I have put myself out there and someone who is beyond God-like in my eyes has read it. I did that. I sent MY work out. Someone said “no,” but they took time to read what I wrote and the world didn’t come to an apocalyptical end! There are no flesh-eating zombies to contend with here and no major depression.

My daughter actually laughed at me the day I received my first rejection email. She told me that she couldn’t believe I seemed so happy to be rejected. I actually didn’t feel rejected, or hated, or stupid, or like the worst writer in the world. I felt relief to get that first one over with. And just to be clear…I think it was the nicest rejection letter a writer could ever get!!

Now the plan is to continue to put my story out into the world and see if someone has as much faith in it as I do. I know that this will take a special someone and it takes time to find that one. I have all the time in the world, although I will admit that I am ready now! I also have been working on another manuscript; one that I am planning and plotting before writing. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

 

Posted on July 29, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

