Thoughts of an Unknown Writer (5)

I finished writing my story, the one I’ve titled Ugly, now what? Well…now I am researching agents to query. This is definitely a tedious process, since you can’t just run your finger down a list with your eyes shut and the one your finger lands on you send a query to. No. Not that easy. I have done a lot of reading about the query process and how to choose an agent.

Let me be clear. The route I have decided to take is traditional publishing. I love, love, love Indy and self-published authors. As you can tell from my blog, I am a big supporter. I just think I am more of a traditional kinda girl.

As for my method of choosing an agent, I bought something amazing. It’s a book! I big book! A book entitled: 2012 Guide to Literary Agents. This will be my starting point. First, to find agents out there who are interested in YA. Second, to find agents who are interested in contemporary YA. Third, to find agents who are interested in contemporary YA and are excepting unknown authors like me. Once I get that far, I will need to decide who seems like they might be a good fit for me. ONLY THEN WILL I QUERY.

Obviously I won’t be sending ANYTHING out tomorrow, but I hope that maybe in a week I’ll be ready. Then…comes the anxiety ridden waiting time. Gee, can’t wait:)

Posted on June 30, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

