BEA Wonderland

 

I did it! I travelled to New York all by myself and attended my very first BEA!!! I have to admit, I wasn’t sure how the day would go seeing that I woke up at 3:30 AM Tuesday morning covered in hives! All it took was 2 Benadryl and I was fine for the trip (and two more doses throughout the day).

 

Once in NYC, I was able to hail a cab to the Javitz Center by 8:00 AM. After obtaining my badge, checking my bag, and getting in line I then proceeded to breathe. And wait. I think waiting was the theme of the day. No matter, I met sooooo many awesome people in line that waiting was…fun.

 

I first met author Liza Wiemer. Boy was she fun to talk to! I got a lot of great advice from her while we waited the hour until the line began to move into BEA. I also ran into Sara from Novel Novice who was super nice. We got chatting while waiting in line to meet Dan Wells, author of Partials. During the wait to meet Gabrielle Zevin, I met the mom of a blogger. Just so you all know, Gabrielle Zevin is awesome!!! The photo below showcases our “sexy look,” which was all her idea:)

 

I think the most memorable part of the trip was beginning the line to meet Melissa Marr. The girls at the booth for Harper-Collins thought I was crazy when I started the line 2 hours before Melissa was due to sign Carnival of Souls. Not me. It was so worth it! After about 10-15 minutes of waiting, I had two people join me. Stacey O’Neal and her brother were those people. I happen to follow Stacey on Twitter so we got to talking about our favorite books and who we had met at BEA. Both die-hard fans of Melissa, we had a lot to chat about. I think we actually giggled like school girls when we realized that we would be getting Carnival of Souls t-shirts:)

    

As for all of the books I toted home in my suitcase, well they will be read by me and shared with my students. A few will stay with me until I can bear to part with them:) This is what the kids came into see today. They were so in awe and were actually afraid to go near the table! Just wait until I give some of the swag away to them tomorrow! After being sick, waking to hives, BEA was so worth the time! I will definitely attend again next year!

Posted on June 6, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Amy, just saw this after I sent you the tweet! You are such a sweetheart. Thank you. It was such a pleasure to meet you. Looking forward to following your tweet and your blog. All the very best, Liza

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

