Thoughts of an Unknown Writer (2)

Last week, I posted about coming up with my first idea for a YA novel. It all began with a song. This unfinished manuscript has since been put away for another idea. One that really speaks to me. Actually, most times the characters are screaming in my ear, so loudly that I can’t help but type their words on the computer just to get them to stop. This manuscript is the one I have been working on for about 1 1/2 years. During this time, I have struggled to find out who I am as a writer.

First, let me tell you that I love vampire stories. I love all that is paranormal, whether it’s YA or adult. But this is not who I am as a writer. I can’t write vampire stories better than Joss Whedon, LJ Smith, Laurell K. Hamilton, etc.

Throughout this process of discovering how and what I want to need to write, I have learned who I am as a person. I am real. I write real stories. My characters are real. They are deep and dark. They are sensitive and snarky. They are broken and ugly. They are all part of me. I am aware, now more than ever, of who I really am. The stuff I’m made of. The good. The bad. The ugly.

Some of what I have discovered is terrifying; nonetheless, I think this journey is leading me down the right path. There are things I have to say. I have stories to tell. My only hope is that one day, I can share them with others.

This is a very small piece of writing I was working on one night while my daughter was at dance. I typically don’t write in a journal, but I didn’t have my laptop with me and got some inspiration:)

Posted on May 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

