Timepiece by Myra McEntire: Review

Timepiece (Hourglass #2)

4.26 of 5 stars
A threat from the past could destroy the future. And the clock is ticking…

Kaleb Ballard’s relentless flirting is interrupted when Jack Landers, the man who tried to murder his father, timeslips in and attacks before disappearing just as quickly. But Kaleb has never before been able to see time travelers, unlike many of his friends associated with the mysterious Hourglass organization. Are Kaleb’s powers expanding, or is something very wrong?

Then the Hourglass is issued an ultimatum. Either they find Jack and the research he’s stolen on the time gene, or time will be altered with devastating results.

Now Kaleb, Emerson, Michael, and the other Hourglass recruits have no choice but to use their unusual powers to find Jack. But where do they even start? And when? And even if they succeed, it may not be enough…

The follow-up to Hourglass, Timepiece blends the paranormal, science fiction, mystery, and suspense genres into a nonstop thrill ride where every second counts.

What did I Think?

Well, I have to admit that I didn’t enjoy Timepiece as much as Hourglass, but let me explain why.

First of all, I read Timepiece on my Sony eReader. When you change the size of the font, in my case to large, it distorts the format of the text. I HATE this! Maybe through some of my irritation about using my eReader, I am taking it out on the book. I apologize for this.

The second thing that may have contributed to my less than excited response to this sequel, is that I simply think I forgot a lot of what happened at the end of Hourglass. The detail that is a huge part of the first 100 pages or so, really confused me at times. I almost put the book, or eReader in this case, down.

I am really glad that I didn’t though! Once I got over the issues I was having with the story, I began to really enjoy the beginning love of Lily and Kaleb. Also, getting to know more about other characters, such as Michael and Liam was just another highlight. Some little details about Emerson, which I will not give away, and Kaleb’s mother kept me reading. Not to mention, finding out more about Jack’s story was also a highlight of this sequel, although I would have liked to know even more.

Posted on May 15, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I so loved the first book but haven’t started this one yet. May reread it before starting this one.

I'd love to hear from you, so drop me a line...

